Oatmeal-Egg: not your usual oatmeal breakfast

Say goodbye to your sweet oatmeal breakfast because you are about to experience a paradigm shift.  I get the same reaction from most everyone I tell about my all-time favorite breakfast.  “Egg in your oatmeal??”  You bet.  And it’s a delicious, salty concoction.

Oatmeal-egg-8

Two years ago, my cousins from New York introduced me to this concept.  I got the recipe from my cousin PC, who got the recipe from his brother Double-A, who in turn got the recipe from his ex lady.  Thus began the history of a two year love affair with oatmeal-egg.  Since then, I have evolved the dish many times over, but the basics are still the same:  oatmeal, egg, and anything else your healthy heart desires.   Before I go into the recipe, however, I want to tell you a brief story about yours truly.

I was never technically overweight, but I did carry an extra 20 to 30 pounds for the greater part of my 20s.  I was always very active with soccer, snow sports, triathlons, hiking, cycling, you name it, but I never seemed to be able to get rid of those extra pounds, and I never felt quite fit enough.  About two years ago, I read an article on sugar and refined carbs.  After some brief research on the toxic effects of sugar, I decided to cut most if not all sources of it: juice, soft drinks, candy, sweets, pasta overloads, and breakfast cereals…. especially breakfast cereals.  The research also led me to increase my fiber intake.  Fiber is essential to a healthy body, there is no substitute for it.  It was around the same time that my cousins introduced me to oatmeal-egg, and with this single recipe I cut most of my sugar intake and dramatically increased fiber.  I believe all things happen for a reason, even if we are not aware of it at the time.

Fast forward to now.  I am 25 lbs lighter (lost it within the first 6 months of cutting sugar), maintained it for over a year now, and feel better than I did in my 20s (I am 31 as of this post).  I partly attribute it to oatmeal-egg, partly to drinking my Kombucha, and partly to general awareness of what I put in my body.  More on that later…  but for now, here is the sugar-stomping, fiber-boosting, party-in-my-tummy, oatmeal-egg recipe.

You don’t have to include all of these items, and you can substitute anything else that you think may add to it:

  • 1/2 cup thick rolled oatmeal (please, no instant and no flavored oatmeal.  I opt for Bob’s Red Mill Organic Thick Rolled.  Buy it on Amazon for way cheaper!)
  • 2 eggs
  • handful of kale
  • 1 chopped tomato and/or tomatillos
  • 1/2 small onion
  • handful of chopped mushrooms
  • handful of string beans (I like the dragon tongue variety)
  • minced jalapeño
  • 1/2 avocado
  • garden herbs (cilantro, basil, etc)
  • Olive oil, salt, pepper, cayenne to taste

Oatmeal-egg-5

General directions (prep and cooking time < 15 minutes):

First, I throw the oatmeal in a small pot and add water until it’s just covered.  I add some olive oil and a generous amount of salt and set it to medium heat.  I use pink salt for extra nutrients.  While the oatmeal is cooking, I chop some kale and add it on top.  The steam from the water will soften the kale.

Oatmeal-egg-6

Set a frying pan to medium, add olive oil and crack a couple of eggs.  I usually fry the onions, string beans, and/or mushrooms next to the eggs at the same time.

Oatmeal-egg-1

When the veggies are ready, I transfer them on top of the kale.  When the oatmeal starts to stick to the bottom of the pan, it’s cooked.  I take it off the heat and give it a quick mix with the spatula.

Oatmeal-egg-4

When the eggs are done, the cooking is done.  I set the oatmeal on a plate and place the eggs on top.  I top it off with the jalapeño and herbs, and place the tomatoes and avocado to the side.  That’s my ginger-honey kombucha making a cameo.

Oatmeal-egg-pinterest1

I don’t eat this every morning.  But when I do, I’m usually not hungry until dinnertime.  That of course also depends on my activity level (am I building a table today, chasing squirrels for fun, or writing a blog post?)

That’s it!  It’s simple and easy, and not only does this look and taste fresh and delicious, but you will feel that way also.

Leave a Reply

